Skip to Main Content

NU416 - Quality and Safety in Professional Nursing Online: Module 3 Readings

Module 3 Readings

Additional Readings

Arling, P.A., Abrahamson, K., Miech, E. J., Inui, T.S., & Arling, G. (2014). Communication and effectiveness in a US nursing home quality-improvement collaborative. Nursing and Health Sciences, 16, 291-297.
Click "Check for Full-Text @ UNA" and then click on the "Full Text from Wiley" link to view the PDF of this article.
Godfrey, M.M., Andersson-Gare, B., Nelson, E.C., Nilsson, M., & Ahlstrom, G. (2014). Coaching interprofessional health care improvement teams: The coachee, the coach and the leader perspectives. Journal of Nursing Management, 22, 452-464.
Click "Check for Full-Text @ UNA" and then click on the "Full Text from Wiley" link to view the PDF of this article.
Jones, P., Shepherd, M., Wells, S., Le Fevre, J., & Ameratunga, S. (2014). Review article: What makes a good healthcare quality indicator? A systematic review and validation study. Emergency Medicine Australasia, 26, 113-124.
Click "Check for Full-Text @ UNA" and then click on the "Full Text from Wiley" link to view the PDF of this article.
Montalvo, I. (2007). The National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators (NDNQI). OJIN: the Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, 12(3).

Discussion Readings

Gardner, G., Gardner, A., & O’Connell, J. (2013). Using the Donabedian framework to examine the quality and safety of nursing service innovation. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 23, 145-155.
Click "Check for Full-Text @ UNA" and then click on the "Full Text from Wiley" link to view the PDF of this article.
MeiBner, A. & Schnepp, W. (2014). Staff experiences within the implementation of computer-based nursing records in residential aged care facilities: A systematic review and synthesis of qualitative research. BMC Medical Informatics and Decision Making, 14
Izumi, S. (2012). Quality improvement in nursing: Administrative mandate or professional responsibility? Nursing Forum, 47(4), 260-267.
Click "Check for Full-Text @ UNA" and then click on the "Full Text from Wiley" link to view the PDF of this article.

Assignment Reading

Burston, S., Chaboyer, W., & Gillespie, B. (2014), Nurse-sensitive indicators suitable to reflect nursing care quality: A review and discussion of issues. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 23(13/14), 1785-1795.
Click "Check for Full-Text @ UNA" and then click on the "Full Text from Wiley" link to view the PDF of this article.