Skip to main content

CIS 289 - Human-Computer Interaction: Home

CSI 289 LibGuide

This research guide provides resources for CSI 289. This guide includes recommendations for databases, catalogs, websites, etc. that will be helpful in locating articles, books and other materials.

If you have any questions, please ask (contact information is on the right bottom of page).

Databases for Finding Articles

Collier Library subcribes to over 150 databases. Currently enrolled students, faculty & staff have access to the databases from off-campus. Use your UNA Portal username and password to log-in.

Many of these databases are full-text, but not all. If an article is available in full-text format within the database there will be a "PDF" or "HTML" link in the record. If the full-text is not available within the database you are searching, we may be able to obtain it from another database or the library may have a print subcription. To determine if this is the case look for the "Full-text @ UNA" link within the record. Clicking this link with take you to a page with additional information. It may have a link to another database, to UNACAT, or, if full-text is not available, to an ILL request form. 

The databases listed on this guide were selected to assist you in finding information in a specific area. A complete listing of our databases can be found here.

 If you are encountering problems accessing the databases, please call 256-765-4469.

The following is a list of databases that will be helpful in CIS 289.

Websites

Books

Use the Library Catalog to locate both print and E-books.

To begin, browse the catalog by subject heading.  Suggested subject headings are listed below.  You may also search by keyword if you wish to narrow your search to a more specific topic.

Books 24x7 is an extensive e-book collection in the areas of business, finance, government, and information technology. Available to current students and faculty only.

Research Consultation

If you would like to schedule an appointment with a librarian please use the Research Consultation request form. This service provides in-depth assistance in library research including identifying and locating the most useful sources of information for your paper, project, or assignment, effective web search strategies, and evaluating information sources.  Among the things a librarian can assist with are:

  • Suggesting the most appropriate databases and other resources for your subject area
  • Locating periodical articles and books on your topic
  • Searching the web to find reliable sources
  • Locating primary documents
  • Locating and using government documents and statistical resources
  • Explaining how to use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from other libraries