Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free Research Resources: Complimentary Access During COVID-19

Contents Explanation

The content featured on this page is being made freely available by the content providers to anyone. How long the data is made freely available will vary across vendors.

Content that is being freely offered to requesting institutions for their users is listed on the Expanded or Temporary Collier Library Subscriptions tab. This tab also provides information on existing subscriptions to content that have temporarily been expanded by vendors to include additional content or additional simultaneous users. 

AIP Publishing

To support global research during the COVID-19 pandemic, AIP Publishing is temporarily making content freely available to scientists and students who register on Scitation.orgTo gain, log in or create an account and then click here to activate your free access.

American Chemical Society

Content relevant to COVID-19 is freely available at this link.

American Medical Association

Information related to COVID-19 from JAMA and AMA journals are being offered as open access. Visit the COVID-19 Collection to browse available content. 

Academic Virtual Classroom

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews has removed the paywall to all of their journals and volumes. Their aim is to ensure continued access to their resources for those who need it, especially for anyone that may now be working, studying, and researching remotely. To access the content, click here. Free access is available through June 15.

 

APA

The APA style guide 7th editionn is being offered open access. For more information, visit https://apastyle.apa.org/blog/coronavirus-response

Berghahn

Berghan is offering free access to all of their journals through June 30. 

BioOne

In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and their publishers have made articles related to coronavirus from multiple publishers available via open access through 2020. Visit this site, for more information.

Brill

Brill has opened access to books and articles on COVID-19 related topics such as public health, distance learning, and crisis research. For more information, visit this site. 

Cengage

Cengage is providing free access to Cengage Unlimited through the end of the current academic term. For details, click here.

Cochrane

Cochrane is temporarily removing access restrictions to The Cochrane Library database and providing two relevant collections.

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Infection Control and Prevention Measures

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Evidence Relevant to Critical Care

Erudit

Erudit has temporarily removed the 12-month moving paywall for all 40+ journals. To access, click here.

GeoScience World

The GeoScience World publishers below are offering free access to all their ebooks through June 30. To access the books, visit https://pubs.geoscienceworld.org/books

Participating publishers:

   - American Association of Petroleum Geologists

   - Canadian Science Publishing

   - Clay Minerals Society

   - Geological Society of America

   - Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland

   - PSAAPG

   - SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology

   - Society of Economic Geologists

   - University of Wyoming

IBISWorld

"As a sign of good faith we’re opening up access to the IBISWorld industry database at NO COST for interested faculty & staff to utilize while everyone gets a handle on the implication of what’s occurring."

"We’re also finalizing a new COVID-19 Exposure Analysis Tool, which will track & identify the economic implications and forecasted projections of each industry, from IBISWorld’s independent perspective."

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is suspending waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in their lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. The suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. To access this library, click here.

JSTOR

JSTOR has released 26 archive journals in public health which are openly available to everyone through June 30th. To access these journals, click here.

Kanopy (Streaming Videos)

With support of some of their content partners, Kanopy is making a limited number of titles freely accessible through May 31. The list of content providers participating include First Run Features, Samuel Goldwyn, Collective Eye Films, FilmRise, Films We Like, Media Education Foundation and NYX.

Lexis Nexis

The vendor has created a COVID-19 News Tracker. Per their communication: "We’ve been using the news tracker to monitor the velocity of the news and hope it will provide you with some additional perspective and useful insight."

Medcom

Medcom is offering free access to the video Infection Control in the Long Term Care Setting.

MIT Technology Review

Per communications from this vendor: 

We are committed to providing all coronavirus/Covid-19 coverage for free for the duration of the pandemic. We’re reporting daily on topics like the problems with coronavirus testing in the United States and an overview of the current treatments.

New England Journal of Medicine

A special page at NEJM.org presents a collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. All articles are freely available.
Visit NEJM.org/coronavirus today 

Ohio State

Ohio State University Press is making all of their ebooks open access for the duration of the crisis. To access, click here.

Project Muse (books and journals)

The following publishers are making content freely available on Project Muse for a limited time. For additional information, see https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/#covid19resources

Redshelf

Students can get up to 7 ebooks from participating publishers. For more information, click here.

Royal Society

The Royal Society has temporarily removed the paywall  on all their online journals. The access this content click here.

Smithsonian "Aerial America"

Smithsonian Channel Has Released 68 Free ‘Aerial America’ Episodes for Your Quarantine Viewing
Do some armchair traveling and see the breathtaking vistas of all 50 states while learning about their histories

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/smithsonian-channel-has-released-68-free-aerial-america-episodes-your-quarantine-viewing-180974523/?fbclid=IwAR0RuUr0X7bCTSN3Sfp8pEJu55wnYRxpPhVbm45D2L1WVUDPidAmcWafpQw

Statista

Statista is offering free data and updates on COVID-19. To access, click here.

Taylor & Francis

From the vendor:

"We have also launched a microsite at www.taylorandfrancis.com/coronavirus to consolidate journal and book resources on this topic. This is currently being updated daily based on keyword scans of articles in production to ensure that we are making all COVID-19 research free at the point of publication. "

University of California Press

The University of California Press is making all of their journal content open access until June 30. For access, click here.

University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection

The University of Michigan Press is making all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection free-to-read until the end of August 2020. Browse or search the collection here.

Wiley

Wiley is providing free access to a collection of more than 5,000 relevant journal artless, book chapter and entries in their major reference works. This collection is available here