Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are a wide variety of sources of free ebooks and journals. Please note that some sites post illegal copies of copyrighted books and articles. We, here, focus on select materials provided by reputable sources. Many other reputable sources are available. Feel free to recommend inclusion of a site by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
In addition to the free sources listed below, you may have free access to resources provided by your state government. Alabamians have access to a wide variety of databases through The Alabama Virtual Library. Tennessee residents can access free databases through the Tennessee Electronic Library.
Google Arts & Culture Museum Views
Locating Free Ebooks
- Art Canada Institute
This is a growing collection of electronic books commissioned by the Art Canada Institute.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
This site provides access to more than 27,950 peer-reviewed books form 377 publishers (as of March 2020).
- Getty Publications Virtual Library
Access to more than 300 free books to read and download.
- Google Books
This site provides full-text access to public domain ebooks and previews of other books.
- Hathi Trust
Hathi Trust is a collaboration of libraries collection of over 17 million digitized items. Public domain books are available to all users. As of March 2020, there were over 6.5 million public domain books available.
- Internet Archive
This is a non-profit library of free books, movies, music, websites, and more.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art provides access to five decades of publications that are free to read, download and/or search.
- Project Gutenberg
A database that includes over 57,000 free eBooks
Locating Free Images & Primary Documents
Locating Free Journal Articles
Per its website, Core is the world's largest collection of open access research papers with over 179,356,900 papers from around the world.
The largest educational database in the world, includes citations, links, and full-text downloading.
While our library provides access to many of the journal collections available through JSTOR (use this link to authenticate as a UNA student or employee), individuals can create a personalized JSTOR account which allows them to read up to six articles every 30 days online for free.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories includes links to academic OA repositories like the one at UNA.
Unpaywall is a browser extension that lets you know if a scholarly article with a DOI is available open access in their database. As of March 2020, their database includes over 25,690,00 free scholarly articles. Other similar tools include Open Access Button
ManyBooks was established in 2004 with the vision to provide an extensive library of books in digital format for free on the Internet. Many of the early eBooks are from the Project Gutenberg archives, which means you will be able to find a lot of classics on the site.
Over a decade later, we are still going strong in our mission to provide a valuable service to our readers. ManyBooks has grown into a platform where self-publishing authors have the opportunity to introduce their work to our community and new books are uploaded to our site daily - provided they comply to our quality standards.
Open Library is an initiative of the Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.