Skip to main content

Accessibility and Library Databases

ADA Accessibility Features in Databases

The majority of library database subscriptions are through three vendors - EBSCO, Gale, and ProQuest. This guide provides information from these vendors about their accessibility features.

Alphabetical list of Library Databases

Please contact us if you have any questions about using our databases or about library resources.

EBSCO

HTML Articles in EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCOhost databases (such as Academic Search Complete and CINAHL) provide a text to speech option for HTML Full Text Articles. However, not all articles are available in HTML. To listen to articles that are in HTML, click on HTML Full Text on the left side of the screen and that will show the option to listen to the article.

For more information - Using the Text-to-Speech Feature.

PDF Articles in EBSCOhost Databases

Reading EBSCOhost PDFs with Adobe Reader.
For more information - Accessing PDF Documents with Assistive Technology: A Screen Reader User's Guide

eBooks in EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost eBook Accessibility User Guide

Gale

Gale Databases (such as Academic OneFile and Gale Literary Databases) have a Listen function for full-text articles. The hear a document read aloud, click or tap Listen to expand the player and begin playback. You may also adjust the reading speed, customize other settings, and  download the audio file as an MP3.

Gale's Electronic Product Accessibility Policy

ProQuest

Much of the content in ProQuest Databases (such as ProQuest Central and ProQuest Research Library Complete) is available in PDF format. To view these documents Adobe Reader needs to be installed on your computer. Many recent PDFs have been created from scanned text and are accessible to screen readers. However, a large proportion of older content, as well as content provided by third-party publishers, was created from scanned images of original text. Text in the images is not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.' The label appears on links and page headers where appropriate.

For more information - ProQuest Help - Accessibility

ProQuest Accessibility Statement

Other Library Databases and Accessibility & ADA Compliance