Manufacturing Process Selection Handbook by
Manufacturing Process Selection Handbook provides engineers and designers with process knowledge and the essential technological and cost data to guide the selection of manufacturing processes early in the product development cycle. Building on content from the authors' earlier introductory Process Selection guide, this expanded handbook begins with the challenges and benefits of identifying manufacturing processes in the design phase and appropriate strategies for process selection. The bulk of the book is then dedicated to concise coverage of different manufacturing processes, providing a quick reference guide for easy comparison and informed decision making. For each process examined, the book considers key factors driving selection decisions, including: Basic process descriptions with simple diagrams to illustrate Notes on material suitability Notes on available process variations Economic considerations such as costs and production rates Typical applications and product examples Notes on design aspects and quality issues Providing a quick and effective reference for the informed selection of manufacturing processes with suitable characteristics and capabilities, Manufacturing Process Selection Handbook is intended to quickly develop or refresh your experience of selecting optimal processes and costing design alternatives in the context of concurrent engineering. It is an ideal reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking design modules and projects as part of broader engineering programs.
Semiconductor Manufacturing Handbook by
This handbook will provide engineers with the principles, applications, and solutions needed to design and manage semiconductor manufacturing operations. Consolidating the many complex fields of semiconductor fundamentals and manufacturing into one volume by deploying a team of world class specialists, it allows the quick look up of specific manufacturing reference data across many subdisciplines.
Handbook of Stochastic Models and Analysis of Manufacturing System Operations by
This handbook surveys important stochastic problems and models in manufacturing system operations and their stochastic analysis. Using analytical models to design and control manufacturing systems and their operations entail critical stochastic performance analysis as well as integrated optimization models of these systems. Topics deal with the areas of facilities planning, transportation, and material handling systems, logistics and supply chain management, and integrated productivity and quality models covering: * Stochastic modeling and analysis of manufacturing systems * Design, analysis, and optimization of manufacturing systems * Facilities planning, transportation, and material handling systems analysis * Production planning, scheduling systems, management, and control * Analytical approaches to logistics and supply chain management * Integrated productivity and quality models, and their analysis * Literature surveys of issues relevant in manufacturing systems * Case studies of manufacturing system operations and analysis Today's manufacturing system operations are becoming increasingly complex. Advanced knowledge of best practices for treating these problems is not always well known. The purpose of the book is to create a foundation for the development of stochastic models and their analysis in manufacturing system operations. Given the handbook nature of the volume, introducing basic principles, concepts, and algorithms for treating these problems and their solutions is the main intent of this handbook. Readers unfamiliar with these research areas will be able to find a research foundation for studying these problems and systems.
Handbook of Measurements by
Planning, measuring, and paying attention to details form the basis for all successful engineering operations. Measurements pervade everything we do and must be viewed from a systems perspective. A comprehensive all-encompassing guide to measurements, Handbook of Measurements: Benchmarks for Systems Accuracy and Precision focuses on high-level engineering computations essential for benchmarks and technical innovation. The book uses a systems framework and a technically rigorous approach to systems linking of measurements--an approach that sets it apart from other handbooks. The popular saying "measure twice and cut once" bears out the importance of measurements in human endeavors. This handbook covers both qualitative and quantitative topics of measurement. It opens with a chapter on the fundamentals of measurement and includes coverage of human-centric measurements, such as measurement of personnel productivity and contractor performance. It concludes with three appendices on measurement, references, conversion factors, equations, formulas, and statistics for measurement. It is well understood that humans cannot manage anything that cannot be measured. All elements involved in our day-to-day decision making involve some form of measurement, whether in the kitchen, retail, sports, service operations, geographical exploration, health care delivery, worker productivity, clothing design, engineering product design, or space craft launching. Measuring an attribute of a system and then analyzing it against some standard, some specification, some best practice, or some benchmark empower a decision maker to take appropriate and timely actions. This book gives you a guide for sustainable practices to ensure accurate measurements, helping you make decisions backed by metrics.
Lean Manufacturing Implementation by
This proven, easy-to-understand "how to" manual gives you the progressive steps to factory transformation to Lean without the aid of a consultant. It provides a toolbox of techniques for problem solving, continuous improvement, and for operating a Lean manufacturing facility on a day-to-day basis after the initial line design is completed. The book also features Kanban strategies for managing inventory including Single-Card and Multiple-Card Kanban Systems.
Making It by
There are many ways in which a product can be manufactured but most designers know only a handful of techniques. Informative and incredibly easy to use, this bestselling book discusses more than a hundred production methods in detail. Making It appeals not only to product designers but also to interior, furniture, and graphic designers who need access to a range of production methods, as well as to all students of design. This expanded edition includes nine new processes and an all-new section of over 40 finishing techniques.
