Article databases are sources of information about--and often the full text of--articles that were published in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
They come in several varieties:
In research, it is important to know which database or databases you should search in order to locate the best research for your assignment. If you have questions about selecting appropriate databases, please Ask a Librarian.
EbscoHost is the name of a whole family of article databases (more than 30) which we get from the Ebsco company. It is NOT the name of the database.
In this example, the name of the database is Academic Search Complete. It's important to make this distinction, since many people think EbscoHost is the actual name of the database. Librarians can provide better help if we know the exact database you're using!
Collier Library subcribes to over 150 databases. Currently enrolled students, faculty & staff have access to the databases from off-campus. Use your UNA Portal username and password to log-in.
If you are encountering problems accessing the databases, please call 256-765-4469.
Content: brief information (records) for articles in magazines, journals, newspapers, often including abstracts (summaries) and full-text.
Selectivity: selected and reviewed by editors and publishers in the first place; then selected for inclusion in databases, to which libraries subscribe.
How to Search: author, article title, periodical title, subject, keyword, other types of searches.
To Get Full-Text:
to see if we have it in print or online, or...Examples:
We subscribe to over a hundred article databases, some very general in nature (covering almost all subjects), and others which are devoted to a specific field of study.
