Skip to main content

SW305 - Social Welfare Policy & Services: Google Scholar

Setting Get full text at UNA links in Google Scholar

Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a useful tool for locating scholarly literature. Google Scholar promotes itself as a resource that provides one-stop shopping for scholarly literature. It searches across many disciplines and covers a wide variety of resources, including journal articles, theses, books, abstracts, and more. Although Google Scholar is aimed at the academic community, it uses a very broad definition of "scholarly literature."  To learn more, click here.

It is important to realize that Google Scholar does NOT index all journals and not everything in Google Scholar is peer reviewed.


To search Google Scholar click here or type your search term in the box below.

Google Scholar Search

Configuring Google Scholar to Display the Full-Text @UNA Link

Google Scholar can be configured to display the Full-Text @ UNA link. This link will allow authorized users (currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff) to link to subscription content within the UNA Library databases. This link will automatically display for users accessing Google Scholar from on campus, but off-campus users will need to configure Google Scholar to display the link. Here's how to set your preferences in Google Scholar.

1. Go to Google Scholar.
2. Click Settings at the top right of the screen.
3. On the left of the screen click Library Links.
4. In the search box type "University of North Alabama" and click search.
5. Check the box for "

Google Scholar Advanced Search Tips

Google & Wikipedia

Don't Google, Google Scholar, and Wikipedia cover everything?  In a word, NO!

Marvelous as they are, these two search tools cover only a very small portion of online information--to say nothing of all the sources that are not online. As large as Google is, it contains only a very small fraction (much less than 1%) of what's "out there" on the web. That's why you cannot rely on Google/Google Scholar for all your information needs--there's way too much that Google simply doesn't have!

This is why it's important to learn to use more than Google and Wikipedia!