Skip to main content

Friends of Collier Library: Home

.

The University of North Alabama extends many of its library privileges to Friends of Collier Library. Library cards are available for the following categories of users:

Complimentary Free 1 card (Must be a UNA emeriti, Board of Trustee, or the spouse, partner or dependent of a UNA employee.)
Borrower $25 1 card
Benefactor $50 2 cards + Library memorabilia
Bibliophile $100 5 cards + Library memorabilia and invitation to events
UL Circle $250 5 cards + t-shirt and invitation to events plus borrowing privileges equivalent to student*

Make Checks payable to the UNA Foundation

The cards are available for the fiscal year (October 1 - September 30). All fees are non-refundable. All Friends must present a current user card at the library help desk to check out materials.

Individuals may qualify for a Friends card by presenting proper identification (i.e., driver’s license) verifying the borrower is 18 years of age. If an individual qualifies for a complimentary card as a spouse, partner or dependent of a UNA employee, the employee must be present when the individual applies for the initial card.

Privileges of the Friends of Collier Library card holder includes:

In-house use of library materials and facilities; and
Reference service, as time allows after first-priority service to UNA faculty, staff, and students.

Maximum Number of Items

Borrower 10 items
Benefactor, Bibliophile, and Complimentary  20 items
UL (University Librarian) Circle Unlimited

(All items are subject to immediate recall)

 

 

Type of Material Loan Period
Main Collection 28 days
Alabama Collection 14 days
Audiovisual Collection 5 days  Limit of 5 items at a time.
Government Documents 14 days
Popular Reading Collection 14 days. Limit of 5 items at a time..
Periodicals By online request; Non-circulating
Reference Collection Non-circulating
Archives/Special Collection Non-circulating

Guidelines for use include:

 

  • All patrons must adhere to the general policies of the library.
  • These privileges apply only to Collier Library. Use of materials in Kilby School Library, or the Music Library is not covered in this policy
  • Friends’ card must be presented when checking out materials.
  • The borrower is responsible for all damage, and replacement costs:
    • Lost books are $30.00 each
    • Lost AV materials are $40.00 each
  • Multiple cards issued to families, organizations and corporations are registered in the name of the organizations/corporation. Charges are billed to the person who signs the membership form.
  • Renewals can be made at the circulation desk or by calling (256) 765-4469. Renewals are available only if the item does not have an existing hold, recall, or outstanding fines.
  • Since the UNA academic community has priority for use of library materials, all items checked out to Friends are subject to immediate recall.
  • All Friends must recognize the responsibility of the University’s Library to provide materials representing different viewpoints and diversity of appeal.
  • The patron is responsible for observing the date due.
  • When Collier Library is closed, patrons may use the book return located at the entrance of the library or the drive-up book return located in Lot A by the Visitor’s Welcome Booth. All items returned via the book drops after closing are accepted as returned on the day last opened.

 

*UL Circle privileges are equivalent to students with the exception of immediate recall.