Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Schedule a Research Consultation
If we don't have an article or book that you need we'll do our best to get it for you. Best of all - it's free to request items.
Selected Web Resources - Cultural Competency in Healthcare
Recommended Databases - Nursing & Health Topics
Use the following databases to begin your search for journal articles. Click here for a complete list of Health, Nursing & Medicine databases. To login to the databases from off-campus use your UNA Portal username and password.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,172 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
CINAHL Complete CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Medline (NLM) MEDLINE is the NLM's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations dating back to the mid-1960s. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Search full-text journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.
APA PsycArticles PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
APA PsycInfo The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. A rich journals collection is supplemented by relevant abstract databases to expand literature searches further and a growing program of online reference works.
Comprehensive and peer-reviewed titles Over 1,800 journals from Elsevier including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron Over 6.5 million articles and over 60 million abstracts from all fields of science Articles are available online before appearing in print Online access to multimedia features not available in print journals, such as: video files, audio files, Excel spreadsheets and Word files Articles in Press: rapid access to recently accepted articles
SocINDEX with Full Text SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Sample Paper - Annotated Bibliography Project
Your groups paper will included a title page in APA format and six annotated bibliography entries (one for each study read and summarized). You can locate the articles for your group in Canvas.
Purdue OWL:Patent Education Materials