Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ernest Borgnine (UNA Archives): The Ernest Borgnine Script Collection

Ernest Borgnine Script Collection

The Collier Library Archives at the University of North Alabama holds Ernest Borgnine's personal script collection.

These original leather bound scripts include over one hundred movies and numerous television shows from Bornine's career. The scripts include the screen adaptation of "Marty" which earned Mr. Borgnine an Academy Award for Best Actor in 1955. Among the other scripts in the collection are those for "From Here To Eternity" (1953), "The Dirty Dozen" (1967), "The Wild Bunch" (1969) and "The Poseidon Adventure" (1972). Television scripts include the series "McHale's Navy" (1960's), "Little House on the Prairie" (1974), and "Airwolf" (1984).

Mr. Borgnine became acquainted with the University of North Alabama through his friendship with fellow actor George Lindsey. His fondness for the University and its students prompted him to donate his scripts to UNA where they could be studied by future film students. Mr. Borgnine officially presented the scripts to the University on December 17, 1999.

For more information about the collection, contact the Archives Department at 765-4226.

Borgnine presenting his scripts to the University of North Alabama on December 17, 1999.
(l-r) Borgnine, Dr. Garry Warren (Dean of Information Technologies),
George Lindsey (UNA alumni and friend) and Dr. Robert L. Potts (UNA President).

Ernest Borgnine Script Collection Finding Aid

The Borgnine Collection Finding Aid lists titles of scripts found in the UNA Archives by year of donation.  Scripts are under copyright protection and may be viewed only on site.

(Hint : To search files that are in pdf format, press Ctrl F on your keyboard and a search box will appear in the upper left-hand corner of the document.)

Collier Library and UNA Archives

Use these links to find related materials through the Collier Library catalogue or to find general information on UNA Archives and its other collections: