Open Access, Open Education, and Copyright

Using CC-licensed properly requires items to be attributed properly.  This is done using TASL:

• T - Title of the work
• A - Author of the work
• S - Source of the work (a link to the original if possible)
• L - License applied to the original work with a link to the license

Keep in mind there are some restrictions/exceptions to freely using CC-licensed materials:

• The NonCommercial restriction. If the work you are using is published with one of the three CC licenses that include the NC element, then you need to ensure you are not using it for a commercial purpose

• The NoDerivatives restriction - The difference between the ND licenses and the other licenses is that if an adaptation of an ND-licensed work has been created, it cannot be shared with others. So you still can adapt (or make a derivative version) but you cannot make it public.

TASL, NonCommercial and No Derivatives text adapted from “Using CC Licenses and CC-Licensed Work”  by Creative Commons. CC BY 4.0.

Collection or Reuse - different works that are complied together but are still distinct objects that are unaltered.  For example, a collection of images, poems, or short stories.

Adapting or Remixing - This is when you mix together different materials and create something completely new.

Nate Angell describes and illustrates a collection: "A “TV dinner” open work is when one collects separate works together and redistributes that collection, but clearly separates each work and its attribution. In this case, one is not “remixing” works, but rather curating them and offering that curation to others. Like with real TV dinners, you can still consume each ingredient by itself because they are served with clear boundaries separating each. In an open-license TV dinner, each work maintains its separate license and the collection does not need to reconcile the different licenses because each work stands alone in the collection."

Attributions: “CC TV Dinner” by Nate Angell is licensed under CC BY, and is a derivative of “tv dinner 1″ by adrigu (https://flic.kr/p/6AMLDF) used under CC BY, and various Creative Commons license buttons by Creative Commons (https://creativecommons.org/about/downloads) used under CC BY.

He further describes and illustrates a remix as follows: "A “smoothie” open work is when one mixes together parts or the whole of one work with parts or wholes of other works to create a new, derivative work that includes material from many sources. Like with real smoothies, you can’t easily separate the different ingredients once they are blended together. In an open-license smoothie, one can only include works with mutually compatible open licenses and the open license of the full derivative work must be consistent with the licenses of all the included works, typically the most restrictive license."

Attributions: “CC Smoothie” by Nate Angell is licensed under CC BY, and is a derivative of “Strawberry Smoothie On Glass Jar” by Element5 (https://www.pexels.com/photo/strawberry-smoothie-on-glass-jar-775032/) in the public domain, and various Creative Commons license buttons by Creative Commons (https://creativecommons.org/about/downloads) used under CC BY.

• If the work is under a copyright exception, like fair use or fair dealing, you have no obligations under the CC license.
• Adaptation (or derivative works) means you are creating something new from a copyrighted work that is itself original enough to be protected by copyright. For example, a film based on a novel or a translation of a book.
• Correcting spelling/grammar does not result in an adaptation
• “Fundamental principle: As of Version 4.0, all CC licenses, even the NoDerivatives licenses, allow anyone to make an adaptation of a CC-licensed work. The difference between the ND licenses and the other licenses is that if an adaptation of an ND-licensed work has been created, it cannot be shared with others. This allows, for example, an individual user to create adaptations of an ND licensed work. But ND does not allow the individual to share adaptations with the public.”
• If the underlying work is licensed under a ShareAlike license, then ShareAlike applies to your adaptation and you must license it under the same or a compatible license (Chart on next slide)
• Consider license compatibility to address the issue of which types of licensed works can be adapted into a new work - see charts in left sidebar.
• In all cases, you always have to attribute the original work when you create an adaptation

Adaptation Text taken from “Using CC Licenses and CC-Licensed Work”  by Creative Commons. CC BY 4.0.

• When creating a collection you must provide attribution and licensing info for each work in your collection
• When you combine various material to create a collection, you may have separate copyright of your own but it only extends to the NEW contributions to the work -for example, you can select and arrange pre-existing poems published by others into an anthology, write an introduction, and design a cover for the collection, but your copyright and the only copyright you can license extends to your arrangement of the poems (not the poems themselves), and your original introduction and cover. The poems are not yours to license.

Collection text taken from “Using CC Licenses and CC-Licensed Work”  by Creative Commons. CC BY 4.0.