Historical Research & Historiography

History Databases: Secondary Sources

• America History & Life with Full Text

  • The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

• Historical Abstracts with Full Text 

  •  Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. 

• JSTOR 

  • Full image backfiles for over 1000 core academic journals with full text and cross disciplinary searching capabilities.

• Project Muse : 

  • A database with a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. Coverage: 1840 - present

• Oxford Journals : 
  • Full text for approximately 147 online journals published by Oxford University Press.
    •  This link opens in a new window
• Academic Search Complete 
  • Multi-disciplinary database that covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
    •  This link opens in a new window

• Book Review Digest Plus 

  • Brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works.

• Book Review Index Online (Full Text) 

  • Provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.

• ProQuest Research Library Complete 

  • Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. more info...Coverage: 1971 - present

Encyclopedias

• Gale in Context: U.S. History 

  • Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.

• Gale in Context: World History 

  • Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.

• Gale OneFile: U.S. History 

  • Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.

• Gale OneFile: World History 

  • Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

History Databases: Primary Sources

Documents, Books, Letters, Diaries, Videos

• ACLS Humanities E-Book
  • A collection of over 2,800 academic ebooks in the covering a variety of topics in the humanities.
• African-American History Online
  • A curated collection of primary sources, biographical sketches, and audiovisual resources documenting over 500 years of the African-American experience.

• American History in Video

  • A collection of over 5,000 full-length videos on various topics in American History. Over half consist of contemporaneous videos between the 1890s to the 1980s.

• Cambridge Histories Online
  • ​​​​​​​Access full-text of many of the volumes in various Cambridge Histories titles.
• Early English Books Online (EEBO)
  • ​​​​​​​Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
  • Contains approximately 64,000 volumes published in the United Kingdom and America between 1701 and 1800.

• Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive 

  • ​​​​​​​Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries. 

• Library Catalog:

  •  You can search the library's catalog for copies of primary sources in our collection, either in print or in an eBook format.

• WorldCat 

  • Over 41 million records for materials cataloged by OCLC libraries worldwide. You can search for the title or author of the materials as you would a database and submit a request through Interlibrary Loan for an item that the library does not own.

Newspapers

• Early American Newspapers
  • ​​​​​​​Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 From Colonies to Nation

• Historical New York Times 

  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Historical New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2006).

• London Times Digital Archive

• Newspaper Source 
  • ​​​​​​​Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
    •  This link opens in a new window

Biographies

• American National Biography(online database)
• Dictionary of American Biography E 176 .D562 Collier Reference
• Dictionary of National Biography DA 28 .D4 Collier Reference
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (online database)