Historical Research & Historiography

Annotated Bibliographies

What is an annotated bibliography? 

An annotated bibliography is a description of a set of related sources that address a common historical topic, often used to organize research and analyze sources. They can help you understand how to analyze and compare multiple historical arguments and provide structure to a historiographical paper. 

Each section of an annotated bibliography should include:

1. Source Citation in Chicago style - Your professor will have specified what type of Chicago style you are to use.
2. Source Summary - Concisely summarize the the source's topic and main argument.
   1. When annotating a secondary source, you want to include how the source is organized, the main types of evidence the author relies on, and the author's argument. 
   2. When annotating a primary source, you should also explain the type of source, who created the source, and the author's intended audience.
3. Source Evaluation - Explain how the source contributes to your topic
   1. You will want to consider several questions for this section. How does the source contribute to your argument? Is it a key piece of evidence supporting your thesis? Does it provide relevant background information? Does it offer a counterpoint to your argument? 
   2. Assess the source's strengths and weaknesses. Did you find the source persuasive or reliable? Were there some aspects of the source you felt needed more evidence or were unexplained? 
   3. Put the source in context with the field as a whole. Does the source fill in a gap in the current knowledge or literature on the topic? Is it refuting a long-held assumption? What does the author say about how their work contributes to our understanding of the topic?

References

• “Annotated Bibliography Revised - UCLA History.” UCLA History, UCLA, https://history.ucla.edu/sites/default/files/assets/annotated_bibliographies.pdf.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography in Steps

First Step: Decide which sources will be most critical for your topic.

1. To help you figure that out, think about the research questions that led you to your topic in the first place and then think about which sources would best help you answer those questions. A major benefit of writing an annotated bibliography is that, by the end of it, you will have a far better idea of what your project looks like, what you are arguing, and what evidence you have to support your argument.

Second Step: Writing the main argument for each source

1. What problem is this author trying to address? What holes in our knowledge does the writer intend to fill? If you had to describe this source to someone who had never read it, what would you say? If you are having trouble capturing the main idea, reread the author’s introduction and conclusion. In those sections, the author is likely to lay out in detail the larger argument.

Third Step: Deciding whether the author successfully supported their argument

1. Look back through the source and see exactly what evidence the author used to make his or her case. Is there enough evidence? Do you agree with how the author interpreted the evidence? In this step, you will also want to put this source into conversation with other sources. Ask how this source fits in with the other ones you have read. Does it agree with them? Disagree? Did you find some sources more convincing than others? If so, why

Fourth Step: How does this source help you write your paper or understand your topic

1. . Once again, return to your original research questions. If you have a working thesis statement, revisit that as well. Ask yourself: What did I learn from this source? What gaps in my knowledge did this source help me fill? Now that I have read this source, has my thinking about my topic changed? Think about the actual structure or outline of your paper. At what point in your paper do you think you will draw on this source? Why will it be particularly useful to you at that point?

Fifth Step: Put it all together

1. At the top of each entry, write down the citation information. Then delve into your summary. In an annotated bibliography, every sentence counts, so make sure your writing is direct and that you articulate the main points you want to make efficiently. Once you have summarized the source, move onto your evaluation, discussing whether or not you found the source convincing and/or how you will use it in your project. Be sure to include any other information your professor has directed.

References

• “Annotated Bibliography Revised - UCLA History.” UCLA History, UCLA, https://history.ucla.edu/sites/default/files/assets/annotated_bibliographies.pdf.