Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Manufacturing Engineering Resources Guide

Government Resources (Technical Reports & Patents)


  • TRAIL (Technical Report Archive & Image Library) 
    • A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
  • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
  • Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
    • ​​​​​​​The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
  • US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • The US PATENT and Trademark Office (USPTO) is where you can find a database of patents registered with the United States.
  • World International Patent Organization (WIPO)
    • The World International Patent Organization provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty applications, which are requests for international protection for patents all around the world.
  • Science.gov
    • Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
  • National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
    • The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. As a principal federal statistical agency, NCSES serves as a clearinghouse for the collection, interpretation, analysis, and dissemination of objective science and engineering data

  • Data & Statistics Directory for United States
    • A directory for data and statistics resources related to the United States, including census, industry, energy information, labor, health, science and engineering, and more.

 

Publicly Available Digital Resources


  • ASEE Engineering Case Library
    • Library contains cases that are accounts of real engineering work written for use in engineering education. The Engineering Case Program originated at Stanford University in 1964 with the support of the National Science Foundation
  • Ethics Code Collection
    • The Ethics Codes Collection is the largest online repository of ethics codes and guidelines in the world. With over 2500 individual codes and guidelines from over 1500 organizations around the world, including current and historical codes dating to 1887, it is maintained by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions at Illinois Institute of Technology