Skip to main content

Government Documents: Find Government Documents

The purpose of this guide is to provide information about Government Documents in Collier Library.

Superintendent of Documents Classification

The Superintendent of Documents Classification System or SuDocs is based on the issuing agency of the government. The SuDocs system is an alpha-numeric call number scheme which places together on the shelves according to the agency that issued the document. The SuDocs Classification scheme is based on Federal Government Agencies rather than broad subject areas.  Below is a breakdown of some of the major designations.

A Agriculture Department

C Commerce Department

D Defense Department

E Energy Department

ED Education Department

EP Environmental Protection Agency

FEM Federal Emergency Management Agency

FR Federal Reserve System

FT Federal Trade Commission

GA General Accounting Office

GS General Services Administration

HE Health and Human Services Department

I Interior Department

IC Interstate Commerce Commission

J Justice Department

L Labor Department

LC Library of Congress

NAS NASA

NF National Science Foundation

P Postal Service

PE Peace Corps

PR President of the United States

PREX Executive Office of the President

S State Department

SBA Small Business Administration

SI Smithsonian Institute

SSA Social Security Administration

T Treasury Department

TD Transportation

VA Veterans Administration

X Congress

Y Congress

How To Find Government Documents in Collier Library

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its government information. Since 1813 depository libraries have collected,organized, preserved and assisted users with information from the Federal Government. A government document is a publication produced by a government agency.

The government documents collection in Collier Library is in a separate collection located on the Third Floor. The Map Collection is located on the First Floor. Government Documents contain information on almost every subject, including education, business, politics, the environment, medicine and history.They vary in size from one page brochures to lengthy research reports. Many titles are now published electronically by government agencies.

Records (or descriptions) of all government documents can be found in the library’s online catalog. You may search by author (personal or government agency), title, subject or keyword.

To find government documents in the collection, use the call numbers provided in the library's catalog. Each document has a call number on its cover. Federal document call numbers are called Superintendent of Documents call numbers or “SuDoc” numbers. Examples are HE20.2002: B52/8 and Y 4.C 43/2:H75/2.  Use the left column to see an explanation of the Superintendent of Documents classification scheme.

When you have the SuDoc call number, go to the appropriate area in the library to find the government document. Most government documents are located on the Third Floor. Exceptions are microfiche, located on the Ground Floor in the Microform Area, and the Map Collection, located on the First Floor.

If you need a document that Collier Library does not own, consult the Catalog of U.S. GovernmentPublications (CGP). Interlibrary loan is available for documents the library does not own. Fill out the online form on the library homepage and submit it online.

Another source for documents in the library is the Federal Digital System (FDSys) database. This database provides free electronic access to more than 1,000 databases of federal information. FdSys can be found under the heading "Government Information "on the library’s homepage.

If you need assistance with the documents collection go to the Information/Reference Desk or call the Documents Librarian at 765-4669.

 

 

 

Federal Depository Libraries

Thumbnail

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian is a service that allows you to ask simple factual questions such as you might ask in person at the Information Desk.

Research Consultation

If you would like to schedule an appointment with a librarian please use the Research Consultation request form. This service provides in-depth assistance in library research including identifying and locating the most useful sources of information for your paper, project, or assignment, effective web search strategies, and evaluating information sources.  Among the things a librarian can assist with are:

  • Suggesting the most appropriate databases and other resources for your subject area
  • Locating periodical articles and books on your topic
  • Searching the web to find reliable sources
  • Locating primary documents
  • Locating and using government documents and statistical resources
  • Explaining how to use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from other libraries