Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources to learn more about OA
Full-size image located here. Image created by Ryerson University Library and Archives and is licensed under the CC BY 4.0 license.
An open library catalog - a project of Internet Archive.
Open Access Databases
The Directory of Open Access Repositories includes links to academic OA repositories like the one at UNA.
Listing of Open Access Databases
A collection of over 1300 databases (and growing) organized by category, fully searchable, and linked.
The largest educational database in the world, includes citataions, links, and full-text downloading.
A database that includes over 57,000 free eBooks
What is Open Access?
Open Access is a collection of copyright policies that allows authors to share their work publicly. In the context of higher education, it is a way to increase non-monetized access to scholarly research - including faculty and student work. The foundation of OA scholarship should follow the FAIR guidelines:
For more information on what is included in these guidelines, a great place to start is FORCE11
Open Access Directory
The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a wiki containing lists related to all aspects of OA - from acronyms to publishers, to videos. Have questions about OA? The OAD is a great place to look for answers.
How Open Is It?
Developed by SPARC in collaboration with PLOS and OASPA, this shows core components of OA. The guide can be downloaded here.