Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The 5 Rs of Open Educational Resources
If you are considering developing and writing a text for your class, it should follow the “5Rs of Openness”:
- Retain – the right to make, own, and control copies of the content
- Reuse – the right to use the content in a wide range of ways (e.g., in a class, in a study group, on a website, in a video)
- Revise – the right to adapt, adjust, modify, or alter the content itself (e.g., translate the content into another language)
- Remix – the right to combine the original or revised content with other open content to create something new (e.g., incorporate the content into a mashup)
- Redistribute – the right to share copies of the original content, your revisions, or your remixes with others (e.g., give a copy of the content to a friend)
(From The Access Compromise and the 5th R by David Wiley https://opencontent.org/blog/archives/3221)
Open Textbook Library
Free to use and download textbook site supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network. Subjects include Accounting, Business, Education, Humanities, Mathematics, Social Sciences, and more.
Peer reviewed and free to use. Subjects include Math, Science, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB aggregates OER books from multiple sources and publishers into an easily searchable online catalog.
OER Commons not only provides a searchable database of OERs, it also provdes users with access to tools and support to create and distribute their own OER materials.
Subjects include Arts, Business, Humanities, Math, Science, and Academic Support. Administered by the California State University System.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT OpenCourseWare makes the materials used in the teaching of almost all of MIT's subjects available on the Web, free of charge. More than 2,400 courses are available and are licensed under the CC By-NC-SA 4.0 license
Comprehensive OER Search Engines
OASIS searches for open content from over 75 different sources. It is created and managed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
George Mason OER Metafinder
The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites, with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
SPARC OER Mythbusting
This document addresses 7 myths about implementing and using OER. It is published under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license.
7 Myths (click on thumbnail for larger image)
OER Knowledge Cloud
This site is a collected, searchable database of all things OER. The collection is built from an initiative of the UNESCO/COL Chair in OER at Athabasca University and the UNESCO Chair in OER at the Open University of the Netherlands.
Open Education Consortium
The Global Network for Open Education
A global non-profit network promoting open education worldwide. This site houses links to OER textbooks, information about how to become involved in OER efforts, provides news and webinars for OER supporters.