This is the "About Archives" page of the "UNA Archives & Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UNA Archives & Special Collections   Tags: archives, history, library, special collections  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.una.edu/unaarchives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 

UNA Archives Hours

 Hours

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

(Hours subject to variation. Please call for verification,
especially if traveling a long distance.)

 Appointments strongly recommended
for researchers.

Call
(256)765-4226

**************

 

UNA Archives & Special Collections
is located on the
2nd Floor
Collier Library

Like Us on Facebook

Like and follow us on Facebook for interesting photos and information related to UNA and the Shoals area.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-7XXjUV_w1Kk/ULOceRIjFwI/AAAAAAAAGOk/IZjm_0pnd8U/s640/facebook-logo-thumbs-up.png

 

Welcome to UNA Archives & Special Collections

University of North Alabama Archives & Special Collections is located in Collier Library and houses the University's manuscripts and rare books collections. 

The purpose of the University of North Alabama Archives is to collect, preserve, index, and make available to researchers records of the history of the University of North Alabama and the northern Alabama region.  The first priority of the collection is material directly relating to the University of North Alabama.  The histories of the Quad-Cities (Florence, Sheffield, Muscle Shoals, and Tuscumbia) are the second priority of the collection. The third collection area is historical material pertaining to Lauderdale and Colbert counties. 

Materials located in this area generally are unique and irreplaceable.  Accordingly, items must be handled carefully and use is restricted to the Archives & Special Collections room.

(For a general overview of our collections, please select the Our Collections tab.)

 

Should I use library resources or an archives?

UNA Archives & Special Collections is open to all UNA faculty, staff, and students and to the general public. Please review the Guidelines for Usage found under the Using Archives tab above.  Researchers also will find copies of forms that need to be completed prior to accessing archival materials.

Take a look at this document to help you understand the differences between resources you will find in Archives & Special Collections and those you will find in the general library area.

Support UNA Archives

Your financial contribution to UNA Archives helps us maintain the collections with the best preservation materials and techniques possible.  If you are interested in making a donation to the archives, follow the link below and choose the area you would like to support.  When you access the donation page, under "Designation" select "Other" and type in "UNA Archives."  Thank you for your support!


(If you are interested in donating memorabilia to the UNA Archives, please contact us by phone or email for further information on the donation process.)

Contact Archives & Special Collections

Profile Image
Louise Huddleston
Contact Info
(256)765-4226

Collier Library
UNA Box 5028
University of North Alabama
Florence, AL 35632-0001
Send Email

Collier Library Information

This link will take you to the Collier Library website where you will find information on the library and be able to access the catalogue and databases:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip