Skip to main content

UNA Archives & Special Collections: Our Collections

General information about University of North Alabama Archives

William Lindsey McDonald Collection

More than 100 boxes of materials and 2000 photographs that are part of the research collection of William Lindsey McDonald, alumnus of the University of North Alabama, Florence City Historian, and author. Most of the materials relate to the history of the Shoals area.


For more information on the McDonald Collection, use the links below:

Sallie Independence Foster Collection

Diaries written by Sallie Independence Foster McDonald over a span of 26 years.  The early entries were written during the Civil War when the teenage Sallie lived in Courtview (now part of the UNA campus).  Also in the collection are Sallie's school composition book, business records dating from 1835, family correspondence, and family photographs.

Photograph Collections

Contains photographs of local interest, especially as they relate to University of North Alabama and Shoals area history.  Included in this collection are a postcard collection and panorama photos related to the building of Wilson Dam.

To view a sampling of these photographs on-line, see our Digital Collection:

Churches Collection

Contains files related to various churches in the Muscle Shoals area.  The Mary H. Lancaster Collection related to the life of The Reverend Edward G. Mullen and the history of Trinity Episcopal church composes a large part of this collection.  Additional materials related to church histories can be found in the William Lindsey McDonald Collection.

University and Wesleyan Collections

 

These two collections compose the core of materials found in Archives & Special Collections.

 

UNIVERSITY COLLECTION
Clippings, organization (faculty, staff, and student) minutes, sports and events programs, alumni rosters, college catalogues, photographs, diplomas, and ephemera that document the history of the University of North Alabama.
 
 

 

WESLEYAN COLLECTION
Primary documents, personal papers, significant ephemera, and research papers donated by the Tennessee Valley Historical Society and the basis of the original historical papers collections now part of Collier Library Archives & Special Collections. Among other materials, this collection includes the Pruitt Collection, the Leftwich Collection, and records of the Southern (or Ladies) Library.

TVA Collection

More than 2800 architectural drawings and photographs detailing the design, construction and operation of the 1918 United States Nitrate Plant No. 2 production facilities and other buildings that became part of the original Muscle Shoals Reservation when TVA was created in 1933. In addition to this collection presented by the Tennessee Valley Authority,  various other collections contain more than 500 panorama and standard photos related to the building of Wilson Dam and publications on the development of both the nitrate facilities and TVA.

For more information on the TVA Collection, use the links below:

Celebrity Collections

Original television and motion picture scripts donated by University of North Alabama alumnus, George Lindsey and friend Ernest Borgnine compose the base of this collection.  Over 2000 memorabilia items from the career of George Lindsey are included. Manuscripts and publicity materials have been donated from a variety of individuals in the entertainment industry including Ray Bradbury, Forrest J. Ackerman, Steve Viall, Lucas Black, and Nobel Willingham.  Copies of film entries in the George Lindsey UNA Film Festival also are included.


For more information on the George S. Lindsey, Ernest Borgnine, and W.C. Handy Collections use these links:

Stribling Collection

Writings, research materials and memorabilia related to University of North Alabama alumnus and Pulitzer Prize winning author, Thomas Sigismund (T.S.) Stribling. In 2006, UNA was designated as a Literary Landmark on the basis of this collection and the University's role in Stribling's career.

For more information on the Stribling Collection, use the links below:

Collier Library Information

These links will take you to the Collier Library sites where you will find information on the history of the library and be able to access the catalogue and databases: