Skip to main content

Creating Persistent Links: Creating Persistent Links

EBSCO Databases (Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, etc.)

1. From the results list click the chain icon to the right of the title of the item.  The Permalink to Record  will open in a window above the article/chapter title and will contain the permalink to the record. 

3. EBSCOhost permalinks contain the ezproxy prefix for off-campus use. So, simply copy and paste the link into a discussion board, email, etc. 

4. A sample EBSCO permalink looks like this:
https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip&db=ccm&AN=123971644&site=eds-live&scope=site

Or

1. From the results list click  the hyperlink for the article/chapter title. This takes you to the detailed record.

2. Then click the "Permalink" link (which has a chain/paperclip icon) in the Tools menu on the right side of the screen. This will open in a narrow window above the article/chapter title and will contain the permalink to the record. 

3. EBSCOhost permalinks contain the ezproxy prefix for off-campus use. So, simply copy and paste the link into a discussion board, email, etc. 

4. A sample EBSCO permalink looks like this:
https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip&db=ccm&AN=123971644&site=eds-live&scope=site

Alexander Street (American History in Video, Education in Video, etc...)

To link to a video in an Alexander Street Press database:

  1. Locate the video within the database.
  2. Look under the video for the Cite, Email, etc... information.
  3. Click the Embed/Link icon.
  4. Click the "Copy" link. This link contains the ezproxy prefix for off-campus use. So, simply copy and paste the link into a discussion board, email, etc. 
  5. A sample url would look like this
    https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|video_work|1840059

JSTOR

1. Select an article from the result list by clicking on the title of the article. 

2. Find the stable URL link for the article. It will look something like this: http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5309/willmaryquar.68.1.0127

3. You'll need to add the library proxy prefix before the stable URL: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=

4. Paste the stable URL link after the library proxy prefix to get a permalink.

5. A sample JSTOR permalink looks like this: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5309/willmaryquar.68.1.0127

LexisNexis

1. Once you find an article that you want to use, look at the top right of the article and locate the link icon (It's a clipboard with a chain link at the bottom). 

2. Click on the link icon and a pop-up box should appear. 

3. Right-click on the bold text in the center of the box and copy the link. 

4. Paste the link after the library proxy prefix: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=

5. A sample LexisNexis permalink looks like this: 

https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?lni=5PK3-4K71-JC85-S533&csi=237924&hl=t&hv=t&hnsd=f&hns=t&hgn=t&oc=00240&perma=true

Films on Demand

To create a Link to a specific video in Films on Demand:

  1. Navigate to the page for the video.
  2. Look for the sharing details under the video screen and title.
  3. Click "Embed/Link" and copy the url in the "Record URL" box if you want to link to the video. Make sure that you copy the entire url.
  4. Paste the url in the desired location. The url already includes the proxy server prefix. So, it will work from both on and off campus.

To create a link to a video segment in Films on Demand. (This requires you to set up a Films on Demand account.)

  1. Log in to your Films on Demand account.
  2. Navigate to the page for the video.
  3. Click on the "Segments" link located under the video screen.
  4. Click on the desired segment.
  5. Copy the url in the "Segment URL" box. Make sure that you copy the entire url.
  6. Paste the url in the desired location. The url already includes the proxy server prefix. So, it will work from both on and off campus.

 To create a link to a playlist:

  1. Login to the database. This will allow you to access your playlists.
  2. Click the "My Playlists" tab.
  3. Copy the "Playlist URL." Make sure that you copy the entire url.
  4. Paste the url in the desired location. The url already includes the proxy server prefix. So, it will work from both on and off campus.

OVID

1. Once you find an article you want to use, click the article title and go to the full-text of the article. 

2. Click on "Email Jumpstart" at the top left above the article text. 

3. A pop-up box should appear with the URL permalink. Copy the URL permalink. 

4. A sample OVID permalink looks like this: 

https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&AN=00006250-201603000-00008&LSLINK=80&D=ovft

Project Muse

1. Select an article from your results list by clicking on the title of the article. 

2. Find the URL for the article in the address bar of your browser. It will look something like this: http://muse.jhu.edu/article/184434

3. You'll need to add the library proxy prefix before the URL: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=

4. Paste the article URL after the library proxy prefix to get a permalink.

5. A sample Project Muse permalink looks like this: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/article/184434

ProQuest Databases

1. Make sure that you are on the detailed record for the article to which you would like to link. To access the record, click the article title in your search results list. 

2. Scroll down until you see "Document URL" near the bottom of the page. 

3. ProQuest document URLs contain the ezproxy prefix. So, simply copy and paste the link into Canvas, email, etc. 

4. A sample ProQuest permalink looks like this: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1518024475?accountid=14668 

SAGE Journals Online

1. Once you find an article you want to use, click the article title. 

2. Then find the "Download PDF" icon. 

3. Right-click on the pdf icon to copy the link. 

4. You'll need to add the library proxy prefix before the pdf link: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=

4. Paste the pdf link after the library proxy prefix to get a permalink to the pdf version.

5. A sample SAGE Journals permalink looks like this: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/0170840611435598

Science Direct

1. Select an article from the result list by clicking on the title of the article. 

2. Find the DOI link for the article. It will look something like this: 10.1016/j.placenta.2017.03.021

3. You'll need to add this library proxy prefix before the DOI: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

4. Paste the DOI link after the library proxy prefix to get a permalink.

5. A sample Science Direct permalink looks like this: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.placenta.2017.03.021

Wiley Online

1. When you locate the article you want to link to, click on the article title.

2. Find the DOI link for the article, underneath the article title. It will look something like this: 10.1111/gec3.12054

3. You'll need to add this library proxy prefix before the DOI: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

4. Paste the DOI link after the library proxy prefix to get a permalink.

5. A sample Wiley Online permalink looks like this: https://ezproxy.una.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/gec3.12054

Library Resources in Course Pages

Faculty are encouraged to incorporate library-supplied resources into their courses. It should be noted, however, that use of these resources is governed by numerous license agreements. These contractual agreements between the database provider and the university govern the use of the electronic resources.

One important thing to remember: Do not post downloaded articles. This is a violation of our license agreements. You should post links to a resource instead. The reason behind this is rather simple. A driving factor behind decisions to keep a resource is the cost per use. Vendors know this. When a faculty members posts a PDF version of an article, only one "use" (the download by the professor) is counted - no matter how many students access that PDF. On the other hand, if a link is posted instead, a "use" is counted each and every time a student accesses the article. This is good for both the library and the database vendor. We can see true usage of a database, which will impact our decision to renew/not renew the product each year.

If you would like assistance in creating persistent links, contact Leigh Stanfield at dlthompson@una.edu.

If you have a question about the license terms for a specific database, please contact collectiondevelopment@una.edu.