Skip to main content

Faculty Guide to Utilizing Library Databases: EBSCO

Linking to Articles, Book Chapters, Etc. - EBSCO Databases

  1. Make sure that you are on the detailed record for the article/chapter to which you would like to link. To access the detailed record, click the article/chapter title on the results list.
  2. Click the "Permalink" link on the right side of the screen. This will open a small window containing the permalink to the record.
  3. EBSCOhost permalinks contain the ezproxy prefix. So, simply copy the link and paste it into Angel, eCollege, etc.

Verified 3/16/2020

Journal Alerts - EBSCO Databases

Many (but not all) of the EBSCOhost databases allow users to create journal alerts. These alerts will notify the user when new content from a specific source is added to the database. There are several different ways in which you can receive these journal alerts, including through RSS feeds and as email messages.

To create a journal alert:

  1. Go to the appropriate EBSCO database. Please note: Only EBSCO databases with a "Publications" search allow users to create a journal alert.
  2. Login to your MyEbsco account.
  3. Click the "Publications" button in the top button bar.
  4. Type the periodical title in the "browsing" box (not the search box).
  5. Click the "Browse" button.
  6. Click on the title for your publication to open the "Publication" record for that title.
  7. Click the "Share" button at the top-right of the record.
  8. Click "email alert"
  9. Enter your email address in the "email to" box and choose the desired options.
  10. Click "Save Alert."

 

Updated 3/16/2020

My EBSCOhost

To use many of the personalized features in EBSCO (journal alerts, search alerts, folders, etc.), you will need a My EBSCOhost account. To create an account, click the "Sign In" link at the top of the EBSCO window. Then click "Create an Account" and follow the on-screen directions.

Folders - EBSCO Databases

Users with a My EBSCOhost account can save citations in their own personal My EBSCOhost folders. Users are allowed to have multiple folders in which to organize these citations. EBSCO also allows users to "share" the contents of specific My EBSCOhost folders with other My EBSCOhost users.

To create custom folders:

  1. Login to My EBSCOhost.
  2. Click the "Folder" button at the top of the screen.
  3. Scroll down until you see "My Custom" on the left side of the screen.
  4. Click the "New" icon located to the right of "My Custom."
  5. Give the new folder a name and click "Save."

To add items to an existing folder:

  1. Login to My EBSCOhost.
  2. Find a citation that you would like to save.
  3. Click the "Add to Folder" link at the top-right of the citation. (It is an icon of a folder with a plus sign.)
  4. Choose the folder in which to store the article. 

Updated 3/16/2020