The U.S. Department of Transportation oversees the management of the various transportation systems within the nation, including railroad, motor, aviation, and associated safety regulations. The official website contains information about the department, the organization of the offices, and the priorities of the department.
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
Under the DOT, the Federal Aviation Administration oversees the aviation industry, including associated safety, efficiency, laws and regulations. The official website includes information on: aircrafts, airports, and air traffic; training and testing; licenses and certificates; regulations and policies; data and research.
Under the DOT, the Federal Transit Administration provides financial and technical assistance to local public transit systems, including buses, subways, light rail, commuter rail, trolleys and ferries as well as also oversees safety measures and helps develop next-generation technology research. The website provides information on the priorities, history, and activities of the administration as well as regulations and programs related to transit systems.
Under the DOT, the National Highway Transit Safety Administration oversees road traffic safety, conducts research and education on road traffic safety, and creates regulations for the industry. The official website provides a range of information and resources, including educational information on risky driving and road safety, recalls, laws and regulations, and data resources.
Statistical data produced by the Bureau of Transportation including airport activity statistics and airline on-time statistics, as well as full-text links to the BTS's Issue Briefs and the Journal of Transportation and Statistics.
National Household Travel Survey
From the U.S. Department of Transportation, this site contains statistical information on local and long distance travel by citizens of the United States .
Facilitated through the DOT, the National Transportation Library is a virtual library that includes a searchable digital collection of nearly over 9,000 full-text documents, as well as an extensive list of online transportation reference sources.
National Traffic Safety Board. Accident Reports
The Accident Reports site provides access to formal reports produced by the NTSB focusing accidents categorized respectively: aviation, highway, railroad, hazardous materials, marine, and pipeline.
The STSI website provides traffic safety information and data on a state by state basis and includes statistics on total fatalities, the economic cost of motor vehicle crashes, motorcycle rider deaths, and several other statistical categories.
This website contains a range of transportation data related to all different types of transit systems in the United States. It also provides a searchable index of over 100 transportation-related databases, online data documentation, interactive analytical tools, interactive mapping, and a mapping center.
