The largest membership organization of social workers in the United States, the NASW contains information, resources, and publications to keep updated on developments in the field.
Administration of Children and Families (ACF)
The ACF is a division of the Department of Human and Health Services that promotes the economic and social well-being of children, families, individuals, and communities by providing funding, guidance, training, technical assistance, and partnerships.
This website provides additional information about social services created by the Department of Health and Human Services, including
Department of Housing and Urban Development
This is the official website for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. The DUH website provides information on the department's initiatives, programs, and projects as well as general information about housing, rental assistance, fairness in housing, sustainability, research, and homelessness.
The website created by the CWIG to consolidate statistics related to child welfare information, including child and family well-being, child abuse and neglect ,foster care, and adoption.
Children's Bureau: Data and Research
The Children's Bureau, an office under the ACF, have compiled national statistics and datasets related to adoption and foster care, annual reports for state child welfare expenditures, child welfare outcomes, child maltreatment outcomes, and national youth in transition statistics.
The Green Book provides background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities related to the Committee on Ways and Means, including topics related to social policy: social security; Medicare; child care; child support enforcement; prevention, foster care, and adoption.
Congressional Research Services Reports
The CRS Reports is a government database containing reports produced for Congress relating to ongoing initiatives, laws, committee activities, etc. The CRS conducts research and analysis to produce reports that provide Congressional entities with the information and statistics needed to make informed policy decisions. While the database contains information related to a broad range of topics, it is an excellent resource for research related to social work.
This dataset, produced jointly by the U.S. Bureau of Labor and the U.S. Census, contains the labor force statistics for the United States, with data tables for categories like poverty, health insurance, personal income, etc.
National Center for Children in Poverty: Data and Policy Tools
The National Center for Children in Poverty has a dedicated site to consolidating the data and policy tools relevant to childhood poverty, including a 50-State Demographics Data Generator, a 50-State Policy Tracker, Early Childhood Profiles, and more.
