Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - B
Banking Information Source Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.
Dates of Coverage - 1971 to present
Bates Visual Guide Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
Bibliography of the History of Art Comprehensive bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present, including fine arts and decorative and applied arts with links to full text for many articles.
Use for: Art
Biography and Genealogy Master Index For nearly thirty years, Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) has been the best place to begin a search for information about people. It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Searching Biography and Genealogy Master Index will enable you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information. In cases where BGMI provides multiple listings for the same person, you can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.
Simultaneous Users: 2
Biography in Context Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Just like all the new revolutionary In Context products, it’s a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user. In it you’ll find:
*600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals
*170+ award-winning Gale reference titles
*50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events
*Integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content
*Hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features
Biological Abstracts Biological Abstracts®, produced by BIOSIS, is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
BioMed Central BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. All research articles and most other content in BioMed Central's journals are fully and rapidly peer-reviewed. The precise form of peer review is left to those responsible for editorial control of the journal. In some cases, including all the medical BMC journals, reviewers are asked to sign their reviews and the pre-publication history of each paper (submitted versions, reviewers' reports, authors' responses) is posted on the web with the published article.
BioMed Central's portfolio of over 100 journals ranges from the highly selective, general interest Journal of Biology, which publishes both online and in print, to a range of specialist online only journals. BioMed Central also publishes Faculty of 1000, the leading literature evaluation service.
Use for: Biology, Biochemical, Health, Medical
BioOne BioOne is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Use for: Biology, Environmental Sciences
Book Collection: Nonfiction Book Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
Book Review Digest Plus Book Review Digest Plus is an essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works.
Book Review Index Online (Full Text) Book Review Index Plus includes more than 5 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more. The benchmark reference for reviews of every kind, the original print edition of Book Review Index provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.
Books24x7 Books24x7 content has changed to a new platform. The old platform will no longer be indexed under Books24x7 at the end of the Spring 2020 semester. It is recommended that the university community use the "Skillport" link under "S" instead.
Brill's New Pauly (cancelled - access ends December 31, 2020) Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.
Britannica Academic Edition Includes the complete encyclopedia as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Includes more than 300,000 links to selected web sites.
Britannica Online School Edition Access to three complete Britannica encyclopedias, including classroom tools such as interactive activity guides, lesson plans and downloadable student activities. (Via the Alabama Virtual Library)
BrowZine BrowZine works by organizing the articles available through Arthur Lakes Library, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across disciplines.
Note: Download the app for mobile use.
Business Insights Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool. In addition to providing authoritative information and statistical data, Gale Business Insights: Essentials enables researchers to explore real world application and develop analytical skills. Perfect for libraries requiring a comprehensive resource that can satisfy the needs of owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, academics, investors, students and general researchers alike, Gale Business Insights: Essentials features rich content, a user-friendly interface, robust analytical tools and a vastly improved research experience.
The Business & Company Resource Center provides business, company, and industry content in the following areas:
Periodical articles, news articles, and press releases
Detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures
Company financials and earning estimates
Corporate chronologies and company histories
Brands and product information
Industry and company rankings
Market Share data
HR Law Case Digests
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.