African-American Music ReferenceAfrican American Music Reference will bring together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Classical Music Reference LibraryClassical Music Reference Library brings together more than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.
Classical Scores LibraryClassical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 scores. This release includes 24,368 scores and 400,088 pages.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Grove Music Online (through Oxford Online)Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.
Hit Songs DeconstructedHit Songs Deconstructed offers powerful analytical tools for today's music industry professional. It is the only online resource for analytics and in-depth analysis of hit songs at the compositional level.
IPA SourceIPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 5340 texts including 902 aria texts!
Music Index with Full TextMusic Index with Full Text covers every aspect of classical and popular music. In addition to full-text journals, it includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos.
Music Online: ReferenceCollier Library provides access to the following resources in Music Online: African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, and the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Through the Music Online portal, these resources can be cross-searched.
Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 111,800 CDs with more than 1,641,400 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Naxos Music Library JazzFrom the very beginning, Naxos has stood for a combination of first-class performances and recorded sound at an affordable price. The Naxos Music Library Jazz offers the same outstanding value-for-money proposition.
Naxos Video LibraryThe world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand.
Opera in VideoOpera in Video will contain five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Project MuseProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE's online journal collections support a diverse array of research needs at academic, public, special and school libraries worldwide. Our journals are heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
Coverage: 1840 - present
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full TextRILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text includes approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 periodicals from 50 countries in 40 languages, published from the early 20th century to the present. Most coverage commences with the first issue of the journal and includes cover-to-cover full text for every included title. Therefore, in addition to scholarly articles and reviews, the database includes obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, news items, and more.
Other Recommended Databases
Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile a one-stop resource for academic research in all disciplines.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,172 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
General OneFileA one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
JSTORFull image backfiles for over 1000 core academic journals with full text and cross disciplinary searching capabilities.
ProQuest CentralProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.