Cambridge Histories OnlineIn November 1902, the first volume of The Cambridge Modern History was published. It was reprinted within a month and established the genre of collaborative scholarly reference uniquely associated with Cambridge. The original twelve volumes of the Cambridge Modern History were swiftly followed by the Cambridge History of English Literature, the Cambridge Medieval History, the Cambridge Ancient History and the Histories of India and the British Empire. A further wave of commissioning from the 1950s to the 1980s initiated the Cambridge Histories of China, Japan, Africa, Latin America, Islam, Iran, various Cambridge Economic Histories, and the revision and renewal of some of the original Histories. During the last decade further expansion has taken place, with Cambridge Histories of political thought, of literature and of philosophy all coming to fruition
Early English Books Online (EEBO)Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineECCO contains approximately 64,000 volumes published in the United Kingdom and America between 1701 and 1800. Topics include ancient, contemporary and local history, accounts of voyages and discoveries, historical biographies and memoirs, genealogical collections, gazetteers, chronologies and maps.
InfoTrac Religion & Philosophy CollectionReligion & Philosophy Collection features a selection of more than 200 magazines and academic journals--everything from Anglican Journal to Zygon--covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Researchers can use this database not only to study theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Coverage, which includes more than 1.1 million articles updated daily, begins as early as 1980 for indexing and 1983 for periodical full text.
Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher’s Index™, produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Indext, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher’s Indext contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Project MuseProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE's online journal collections support a diverse array of research needs at academic, public, special and school libraries worldwide. Our journals are heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
Coverage: 1840 - present
ProQuest ReligionSearch a comprehensive collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.
Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Other Recommended Databases
Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile a one-stop resource for academic research in all disciplines.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,172 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
General OneFileA one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
JSTORFull image backfiles for over 1000 core academic journals with full text and cross disciplinary searching capabilities.
ProQuest CentralProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.