LibGuides: Resources by Subject: Nursing & Medicine

Nursing

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database that covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
Alt-Health Watch This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 180 international magazines and academic journals, many of which are peer-reviewed, focused on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
Bates Visual Guide This link opens in a new window Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
ERIC (via EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
The world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. Contains more than 1 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Gale Health & Wellness (cancelled effective June 30, 2025) This link opens in a new window Information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Health Source: Consumer Health This link opens in a new window
The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full image backfiles for over 1000 core academic journals and thousands of electronic books with full text and cross disciplinary searching capabilities.
Nexis Uni (formerly called Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of news, legal, and business sources.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 4 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Premier evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. Nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills, and read full-text journal articles anytime, and anywhere.
Ovid LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 80 of today’s top nursing journals used by nurses, nursing students and health professionals around the world on a daily basis
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to serve a wide range of people who need health information -- from hospital administrators to medical professionals to consumers. The database provides coverage from leading health journals and essential medical journals in key medical specialties.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from more than 1,000 journals published by Sage across a variety of subject areas.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from more than 2,000 journals published by Elsevier across a variety of subject areas.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from two Taylor & Francis journal collections - Science & Technology and Social Science and Humanities.
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window
Provides an introduction to the human body through 50 visual interactive chapters.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from more than 1,000 journals published by Wiley across a variety of subject areas.

Instructional Services Librarian

Leigh Stanfield

Email Me

Contact:

dlthompson@una.edu
UNA Box 5028
Florence AL 35632-0001
256-765-4466

Subjects: Biology, Geography, Kinesiology, Nursing

Resources by Subject: Nursing & Medicine

Nursing

Instructional Services Librarian

Databases

Campus Libraries